The Vertical Workshop Pilates Teacher Intensive Program (TVWPTI)

June 22, 2013 at 12:21 pm 27 comments

As I’m about to post my latest article on Pelvic Floor and Pelvic Floor Dysfunction…here’s something to think about:

TVW Intensives

The Vertical Workshop Pilates Teacher Intensive Program (TVWPTI)

It’s coming up soon…a true announcement of dates, locations, rates and program details are on the way. But here is a really good introduction:
A general overview:  So many teachers with to have a considerably deeper understanding of Pilates (no matter what style), human bodies, human movement, how to teach (teaching tools, understanding how to really progress a client and how to enjoy doing it...with efficiency. Dear teachers spin their wheels trying to figure out what needs to be done and when. They take the long way around to it when it is more direct…  It’s far simpler than you’d think. And far simpler than most training programs [all training programs] make it out to be.) how clients actually learn, how apparatus really works and so much more…so very much more.

Some teachers are so beautiful about getting continuing education. They want a  focused and true way of deepening their knowledge and abilities that actually makes sense and works!

Basically, I wish to teach you how to do what I do.  I love every moment and don’t find a single moment of teaching difficult.  If you’ve worked with me already…you know I giggle with excitement nearly every second.  Teaching is fun when you feel utterly at ease and truly educated!  What’s innate in me (or what I’ve taught myself) is learnable by you…and I’ve created a program to teach it to you rather simply.  Simplicity is the key.  It’s not dumbed down…it’s just honest.

The (proposed) Layout:
1.5 year program
1 3-day seminar every 4 months
Weekly homework projects
1 2-hour meeting each month
Manual
Workbooks
projects, discussion groups and more…

It is a real intensive. Rather than a “bridge” that just takes you through the information without actually getting a deeper understanding or time and appropriate measures to practice this stuff and develop thoughts…this is solid and thorough work together. Most “bridge” programs are info thrown at you and then you fend for yourself. This is different. It will be my responsibility to do the work to make it really effective for all!

So, you can teach your current schedule, take care of children, do what you need in life…and get the intensive extras you desire…truly incorporating it all into your work and life by taking the time it needs rather than a rush-job. Really learn…so that you never need to take another program again. Not Ever. You’ll enjoy more continuing education, but you will no longer feel like you are hopelessly seeking something to make you a more confident teacher with a real understanding. You will have it! Everything is easier then: learning, getting clients, maintaining clients, your own workouts will have more value, you will see great positive changes in all aspects.

Really?
Really.

Locations appear to be in Boston, NYC and a central location in Europe…to begin. I believe that there will be one program in each location each year…the programs will overlap. (Just one in each location simply because I only have so much time and I will still have my continuing education schedule all over the world, teaching in NYC, blog, book, products, upcoming webinars…and personal life…)

Interested? Email me: info@TheVerticalWorkshop.com

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

At Long Last…The Pelvic Floor Article The Vertical Workshop Pilates Teacher Intensives are HERE!

27 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pamela Garcia  |  June 22, 2013 at 12:34 pm

    Can you tell me where in Boston you will be teaching?

    Reply
  • 2. Rita Matraia  |  June 22, 2013 at 12:36 pm

    Shari, I will anxiously await this – very interesting topic for my clientele. BTW, if you think, as you embark on your Intensive programs that you would want to use my studio space (now that you have seen it) please let me know. Although things are busy during the week, I have availability on weekends. I am considering running a Stott Reformer cert for 5 weekends in the fall but depending on timing, I could host your program if you think I am a viable host center. Let me know. I hope you are well! Rita Matraia http://www.thecoreconnection.com

    Reply
    • 3. theverticalworkshop  |  June 22, 2013 at 12:47 pm

      Thank you, Rita, you are very gracious!

      I am in the midst of negotiations with another studio for this first round. Perhaps we will be able to have a continuing situation there. That is my hope. However, if there is need in the future, I would certainly reach out to you. Your studio is so lovely and you were such a dear host!

      With that, I’d still love to consider other Cont Ed workshops, separate from the Intensives, at your The Core Connection in the future! Please let’s keep chatting about that!

      Hope to see you in the not-too-distant future!!
      – Shari

      Reply
  • 4. AliW  |  June 22, 2013 at 1:09 pm

    Shari , Very much looking forward to your article – especially as I think this might be considered with SIJ issues …. also interested to hear what you might say about hypertonicty of PF…..

    Reply
  • 5. adkinspilates  |  June 22, 2013 at 1:37 pm

    You’re amazing. Can’t wait to hear more on this. And I think this new intensive program warrants getting an assistant/intern!

    – Lexy

    Sent from my iPhone

    Reply
    • 6. theverticalworkshop  |  June 22, 2013 at 1:40 pm

      Lexy! Thank you!
      (Do my two precious cats who are sleeping on my desk count? Maybe not?!)
      – Shari

      Reply
  • 7. lizzietuff  |  June 22, 2013 at 5:09 pm

    I would love to know where you olan to teach the intensive programme in Europe?
    Thanks
    Lizzie

    Reply
    • 8. theverticalworkshop  |  June 22, 2013 at 10:52 pm

      Hi, Lizzie,
      I will announce where once I have completed all agreements.
      Where are you located? The UK?
      – Shari

      Reply
      • 9. AliW  |  June 23, 2013 at 8:53 am

        Lizzie ! Hi – great to see you on here – isn’t it a great BLOG :))

        Alison ( Portsmouth)

  • 10. Janet burke-Allen  |  June 23, 2013 at 7:15 am

    Shari, I am very interested in the Boston training, please let me know when you have dates etc. I look forward to seeing and working with you again! Janet

    Reply
    • 11. theverticalworkshop  |  June 23, 2013 at 10:06 pm

      Hi, Janet,

      Thank you for being interested in the Teacher Intensives! I will keep you posted on it, indeed. I have just received confirmation to post the Boston location: Pilates Back Bay. Kachina Fredricks’ lovely studio. We’ll have dates and rates up soon!

      All the best,
      – Shari

      Reply
  • 12. AliW  |  June 23, 2013 at 9:52 am

    I am hoping London might be the Europe venue :)) Xxx

    Reply
    • 13. theverticalworkshop  |  June 23, 2013 at 10:05 pm

      I would love London to be the European venue. Let’s work on that! It’s another city not terribly far from you (though different country) who has inquired about hosting at least the first run. I’ll keep you posted as things develop. If it’s not this particular studio, I will seek out others. I adore London and all who I have worked with there…it would be fantastic to do this there!

      All the best…and thank you for your interest and excitement!
      – Shari

      Reply
  • 14. Kimberly Englert  |  June 23, 2013 at 3:13 pm

    Shari,

    I am interested in finding out more about your intensive workshop course you mention on your website and I wanted to sign up for the rotated pelvis but it will not let me sign up on that website. Can you please let me know where that workshop will be held? I know it is July 16th but I don’t know where. Thank you, Kimberly Englert

    On Sat, Jun 22, 2013 at 12:21 PM, The Vertical Workshop’s Pilates Teacher

    Reply
    • 15. theverticalworkshop  |  June 23, 2013 at 10:02 pm

      Hi, Kimberly,

      Did you get my email I sent directly to you?

      If you have any issue signing up for the Anatomy Afternoons Rotated and Twisted Pelvises on July 16, absolutely email the studio: Real Pilates (in Tribeca, NYC): info@realpilatesnyc.com They will help you. And if that doesn’t work…email me: info@TheVerticalWorkshop.com and I will keep helping!

      Hope to see you there!
      – Shari

      Reply
  • 16. paula palmer  |  June 23, 2013 at 4:33 pm

    This is really exciting!!!! I am a new pilates instructor, and I must admit I have WAY more questions than answers right now. I live in Chicago, but I must find a way to be apart of this training program-where there is a will there is a way:)

    Reply
    • 17. theverticalworkshop  |  June 23, 2013 at 10:01 pm

      Hi, Paula,

      Thank you for your excitement! I am excited too!!

      It is normal to have many questions as a new teacher…but…that must not last long and anyone who tells you that experience is all the schooling that you need is wrong…because…you need to know a lot more before you teach. Not more exercises…but more about how the body works, why dysfunction occurs, how to rebalance…how to deal with people, how to deal with different colleagues, studio owners, cancellation policies. Why the apparatus does this or that. And…simply how to continue your studies and research in an effective way.

      Indeed, a lot is learned in experience…but…there is more that needs to be taught and I’m thrilled to be able to do so.

      I’ll keep you posted. Flights & Lodging to/from Boston or NYC every 4 months…not so difficult or expensive (even NYC).

      All the best,
      – Shari

      Reply
  • 18. Emily  |  June 23, 2013 at 7:09 pm

    Is L.A. out of the picture?

    Reply
    • 19. theverticalworkshop  |  June 23, 2013 at 9:56 pm

      Hi, Emily!

      Thanks for asking. Actually, I’m planning on Long Beach, CA…so…very close! We’ll take driving times/traffic into consideration, of course!

      I would love for you to be in this program! I’ll keep you posted when that is set and ready!

      All the best,
      – Shari

      Reply
      • 20. Emily  |  June 25, 2013 at 12:35 am

        Absolutely I am on board for Long Beach!!!!

      • 21. theverticalworkshop  |  June 28, 2013 at 3:31 pm

        Emily! It would be wonderful to work with you in The Intensive Program!
        I’ll keep you posted!
        – Shari

  • 22. Alexandra  |  June 24, 2013 at 8:17 am

    Dear Shari,

    This is exactly the kind of program I’ve been searching for. Please keep me posted on your NYC dates. I will be there!

    I can hardly wait,,

    Alexandra

    Reply
  • 23. Alexandra  |  June 25, 2013 at 7:30 am

    I would LOVE to participate in your NYC program. Any idea when it will happen? This is exactly what I need.

    I can hardly wait!

    Hope to see you soon,

    Alexandra

    Reply
    • 24. theverticalworkshop  |  June 28, 2013 at 3:33 pm

      Alexandra,

      Thank you for your desire to participate in the NYC Intensives! I will keep you posted on all parts of it. I’m still in negotiations/planning for it. I plan on starting it in January 2014. I have a nice meeting about it this Monday…and will post information as soon as it’s ready.

      Boston starts on November 15!

      All the best and thank you!
      – Shari

      Reply
  • 25. Karen Chappell  |  June 28, 2013 at 2:48 pm

    I am in San Francisco. If you do Long Beach, what would the traveling look like? Thanks, Karen

    Reply
    • 26. theverticalworkshop  |  June 28, 2013 at 3:20 pm

      Hello, Karen,

      Thank you for reaching out…and for your interest in the Teacher Intensive Program.
      The travel is only once every 4 months…5 times. That’s 5 visits over 1.5 years. A 3-day seminar each time. With testing on the last one if you desire to earn a certificate and be viable to train to be a Teacher Trainer for The Vertical Workshop Teacher Training Program in the future. Of course, you may just want the information and practice and experience and don’t wish to test.

      There is weekly homework…at home or studio.
      A monthly webinar meeting…at home or studio.

      I want to make it possible for people!

      Now…I don’t have dates set for Long Beach, yet, but I will post when they are set.
      Boston dates are set. NYC is coming soon.

      I’ll keep you on the mailing list! Please ask as many questions as you need. Full information will be coming out very shortly.

      Reply
  • 27. Stacy (Shakti) Oliver-Skaggs  |  October 23, 2014 at 3:47 pm

    Dear one,
    Do you have an idea of start ups for “round 2”? Potential beginnings for Teacher Trainer training? Additional US locations for round 1? Do the seminars need to be taken in numerical sequence?
    very excited!

    Reply

Please Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Sessions via Skype

Would you like to do a workout, question/answer or mini-workshop session with Shari? Each week, Shari works with teachers all over the world via Skype. Email Shari at info@TheVerticalWorkshop.com

Workshop Download – The Music of Pilates

Buy, Info, FREE Sample

Workshops

Full info listed under "Workshop Calendar" at www.TheVerticalWorkshop.com/workshops

EVERY DAY at your home:
The Music of Pilates
www.TheVerticalWorkshop.com/the-music-of-pilates

2017...
January 13-15 Webinar
June 9-11 Rio de Janeiro, BRASIL
(more to come as I work around my graduate school schedule)

2016...
February 26-28 Rhinebeck, NY
March 10-13 - Live-Streaming Webinar of The Intensives Seminar #1
April 1-3 Bethesda, MD
April 22-24 - London, ENGLAND
May 15 - NYC, NY
June 3-5 London, ENGLAND
July??? - Live-Streaming Webinar of The Intensives Seminar #2
September 30 - October 2 London, ENGLAND

EVERY DAY at your home:
The Music of Pilates
www.TheVerticalWorkshop.com/the-music-of-pilates

Archives

Special Thanks:

NYC's Finest Chiropractor

Joe Fiedler Trio

Incredible Music

Fantastic Music

The Vertical Workshop

Link yourself to this blog…

Would you like to be listed on the Pilates Teacher Blog like the links you see above in "Special Thanks"?
E-mail me at info@TheVerticalWorkshop.com to find out how!


