Thanks To This Community of Help

November 23, 2012 at 9:35 pm 5 comments

Image

American Thanksgiving was just yesterday. 
This is always a special time to consider how fortunate I am and how grateful I am…for everything.
On a professional level, I’m grateful for so much.
This year…I must give my thanks to the very many of you, my fellow teachers and Pilates enthusiasts.  
I am grateful that I have a forum to share in ideas…to share in my passion.
As a teacher and a life-long student, I am thankful that I can study and work and research and share my thoughts, ideas and actions with you all.

What thrills me most is that we are becoming more and more what I love to call “A Community of Help”.  I remember that when I first started teaching, with my excitement to help clients and be around others who did the same, I was sorely disappointed that there was so much nastiness within the community.  “The Law Suit”, complaining teachers, catty-ness, coveting of material.  I suppose it was not a “community”.

Now…is this stuff all gone?  No, of course not.  However, the more time I spend with different people all over the world of different styles of Pilates and my same style of Pilates…I meet nearly countless people who just want to help people…just like me!

Our community is really becoming that…A Community of Help.  We refer clients to one another.  We ask questions to each other.  We share ideas.  We cross the borders of style to be-friend each other.  Again…does everyone do these things?  No.  But that’s OK.  The majority work to help each other and their clients.  

I’m in the midst of interviewing several of Mr. Pilates’ former clients for a magazine feature article.  They are a remarkable bunch who speak so very highly of Mr. Pilates and Clara Pilates, indeed.  A stunning statement by one lovely, former client, Aviva:  She says that “Core strength was a detail (for Mr. Pilates), not a goal itself; a by-product, a part of his philosophy.”  The workout is then a detail that brings us to the ultimate way of life…the philosophy is about how we live as physically and emotionally aware beings…together.  That we all take notice of ourselves in space, how we move and  interact with each moment and each other.  That we can help ourselves and each other.  My personal spin on Mr. Pilates’ philosophy.

So, I thank you, Community.  Thank you for our continued development as “A Community of Help”.

All the very best to you all, 
– Shari

****As always, if you have comments to share or questions to ask, please do so at the end of this post.  Just below this line, you’ll see information on workshops, sessions, consultations and more:

Workshops:

Register early and bring your teacher friends for workshops that exceed your normal expectations. It’s time you really got what you need from workshops…I work to provide! Your time and money are precious. Let’s give you what you need.

And so many more workshops to come…we can do one at your studio, too!

****Please share this information and tell your Pilates teacher friends and colleagues to come on over for workouts and workshops that will get your Pilates-teaching-juices flowing.****

Again, these are not your typical workshops where you might get 1 useful tidbit. You will leave full of new teaching skills and ways to look at Mr. Pilates work. You will have a new perspective on Pilates that will enliven your teaching and your own workouts!

See full details on The Vertical Workshop website at “Workshop Calendar” for:

2012 continues with:

Mamaroneck (Westchester), NY, USA – Dec. 2

NYC, NY, USA – Dec. 11

2013 starts with:

NYC, NY:  January 15

Boston, MA: January 13

NYC, NY:  January 27

Atlanta, GA: February 1-3 (Pilates on Tour)

Vicenza, ITALY: February 9-10

L.A./Manhattan Beach, CA: February 23-24

London ENGLAND: April 26-28 (Pilates on Tour); sessions at Pi Studios

Rhinebeck, NY: May 19

Austria:  June 8-9

(and much more to follow!)

 

Workshops in Your Studio:

If you are interested in my teaching workshops and/or semi-private sessions for your teachers at your studio, please contact me at info@TheVerticalWorkshop.com

I’ll be thrilled to put together a program with you for your needs!

While my vocabulary of exercises is classical Pilates, the principles behind my teaching and workshops apply to every style of Pilates.

We have countless topics to play with within technique workshops, biomechanics and functional anatomy workshops and teaching skills workshop that apply to all!

*******

Sessions:
If you’re in NYC and want a Pilates session e-mail me at info@TheVerticalWorkshop.com

Workshops:
If you’d like a workshop and/or semi-privates at your studio, e-mail me at info@TheVerticalWorkshop.com I travel all over the world and would be thrilled to come to you!

Consultation:
If you’d like to set up a meeting on the phone or in person to ask questions about teaching or building/maintaining your business, e-mail me at info@TheVerticalWorkshop.com

*******

Thank you, as always, for taking the time to read this blog! I hope you’ll search around the blog and find articles that appeal to you, write comments, ask questions…I hope you’ll really make use of this! Then…I do hope to work with you in person, too!

Enjoy!

– Shari

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Word to the Wise: Take Good Care… An Article for Everyone (Dec. 2012 and earlier)

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The Vertical Workshop's Pilates Teacher Blog  |  December 6, 2012 at 10:21 pm

    […] Thanks to This Community of Help […]

    Reply
  • 2. Hally  |  December 15, 2012 at 3:53 pm

    Thanks for this post, Shari. I have long wished for a cohesive and friendly Pilates community. It is a wonder that Pilates teachers who are in the business of serving others can be so competitive and divisive. I have embraced teachers from all different backgrounds into my studio and it has made us all grow together and truly THRIVE. I enjoy taking workshops from many different teachers and learning different styles because it gives me a new perspective on things. I love what you are doing with your blog, your workshops and your newsletters. I hope to be able to take a lesson with you again soon. Keep up the amazing work you are doing!
    With love, Hally Bayer

    Reply
    • 3. theverticalworkshop  |  January 24, 2013 at 11:45 am

      Hally,

      I’m so sorry that I didn’t reply to your comment in December! It was my birthday weekend…and I celebrated more than I worked. (A good thing!) Thank you for your patience!

      With that, I agree…we can have a cohesive and friendly community. Some of us are there. Others are not there yet and may never be. However, those of us who want to be connected work hard at it with such enjoyment!

      I hope to see you soon, too!

      All the best and thank you!
      – Shari

      Reply
  • 4. susan pollack  |  February 10, 2013 at 8:46 pm

    Shari, thank you for writing this blog and for teaching workshops so others can learn from you. I love your enthusiasm and spirit, more so now that I’ve met you 🙂 I am, indeed, carrying you with me in my classes since I took your class. I smile when I find that I am “channelling” you in my teaching. And my students like it. Again, thank you for sharing yourself! ❤

    Reply
    • 5. theverticalworkshop  |  February 17, 2013 at 6:22 pm

      Hello, Susan,
      I apologize for my late reply…it’s a wonderfully busy time. Thank you for your patience!
      And…thank you for what you wrote and the sentiment behind it. I am glad that what I share is working!
      Thank you!
      – Shari

      Reply

Please Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Sessions via Skype

Would you like to do a workout, question/answer or mini-workshop session with Shari? Each week, Shari works with teachers all over the world via Skype. Email Shari at info@TheVerticalWorkshop.com

Workshop Download – The Music of Pilates

Buy, Info, FREE Sample

Workshops

Full info listed under "Workshop Calendar" at www.TheVerticalWorkshop.com/workshops

EVERY DAY at your home:
The Music of Pilates
www.TheVerticalWorkshop.com/the-music-of-pilates

2017...
January 13-15 Webinar
June 9-11 Rio de Janeiro, BRASIL
(more to come as I work around my graduate school schedule)

2016...
February 26-28 Rhinebeck, NY
March 10-13 - Live-Streaming Webinar of The Intensives Seminar #1
April 1-3 Bethesda, MD
April 22-24 - London, ENGLAND
May 15 - NYC, NY
June 3-5 London, ENGLAND
July??? - Live-Streaming Webinar of The Intensives Seminar #2
September 30 - October 2 London, ENGLAND

EVERY DAY at your home:
The Music of Pilates
www.TheVerticalWorkshop.com/the-music-of-pilates

Archives

Special Thanks:

NYC's Finest Chiropractor

Joe Fiedler Trio

Incredible Music

Fantastic Music

The Vertical Workshop

The Vertical Workshop Pilates

Link yourself to this blog…

Would you like to be listed on the Pilates Teacher Blog like the links you see above in "Special Thanks"?
E-mail me at info@TheVerticalWorkshop.com to find out how!


