“Success Story” – Pilates Style

July 13, 2010 at 1:18 pm 19 comments

Little Shari in spangels! Rhythm tap was my childhood passion!

Pilates Style featured me in their “Success Story” column this issue:  July/August 2010.

It’s all about how I went from dance being my fascination, to musical theater as my career, to a horrifying injury into my current career in Pilates.  There’s a considerably amount of drama in it…I hope my life is far less dramatic in the years to come.

If you’d like to read my story, here is a direct link to the article:  Shari Success Story PilatesStyle July 2010

What’s your “Success Story”?  What got you into Pilates or what is something that you feel Pilates has given you or one of your clients that’s been life-changing?  Please post a comment in this blog and let us all know.  We’re all touched by this great work in some special way.  Please share!
Thank you!

– Shari

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Independence: It’s fundamental to Pilates! Classical Confusion: Clarifying the Definition of Classical Pilates

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Natalie  |  July 13, 2010 at 10:37 pm

    Very inspirational story! I found pilates the same way. I am a physical therapist, worked with spinal cord patients for 2 years and now dancers. Recently I had a back injury (not a disc problem) that has caused alot of numbness/weakness/paralysis in my left leg. I ignored it for the last two years and found my pain increasing and effecting my job. I used pilates for years with my patients and decided I needed to get certified. It has brought my practice to a different level and amazing results with my leg/back. I still have a ways to go, but it has added a new passion to my body work. I am excited to complete my certification and combine my skills as a physical therapist and pilates instructor.

    Thanks for sharing your story!
    Natalie

    Reply
    • 2. theverticalworkshop  |  July 14, 2010 at 10:32 pm

      Hi, Natalie! Thank you for sharing your story, too, and thank you for reading!
      I hope you continue to feel better and better. I’m sorry you have had pain, but am glad you have the resources to help yourself.
      If you ever need more ideas/suggestions on how to help your back through Pilates, please ask. I’d be glad to help.
      Again, thank you! I hope to hear from you again!
      – Shari

      Reply
      • 3. Natalie  |  July 15, 2010 at 12:16 pm

        I would love to learn more/suggestions from an outside perspective. You can email me at nimrisek@gmail.com.

        Thanks!

  • 4. Kelly  |  July 16, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    I also come from a dance background. When I was seventeen years old I threw my back out for the first time. All I did that particular day was bend over to pick up some keys, but many things had led up to it. I had been dancing on a cement stage for three years and my posture was not ideal (sway back).

    Things would get better and then I would get random “back attacks” where I would find myself “locked” in a bent position and not be able to straighten out without intense pain. I continued to dance all through college, earning my B.A. in Dance and then started to audition with hopes of a fruitful dance career. It was not to be. My pain worsened and gradually became a chronic condition which limited my ability to take dance classes and go on auditions.

    X-rays showed that my lumbar vertebrae were touching and I am sure that had I continued on the same path I would have had serious injury and damage. Fortunately, I found Pilates. It was a long road and I, too, took two steps forward, one step back during my rehab journey. Slow and steady, I literally changed my body within just a few years. My lower vertebrae now have healthy space between them and I have lived pain-free for nearly eight years after experiencing the chronic pain for over twelve.

    It wasn’t until I overcame a knee issue that I decided to become an instructor. I am so thankful and grateful that I did. Pilates is part of my lifestyle and I believe that by doing it regularly and consistently that I avoid many injuries and illnesses.

    Reply
    • 5. theverticalworkshop  |  August 3, 2010 at 11:26 pm

      Hi, Kelly!
      I meant to reply to your story far earlier than this! I’m sorry!
      Thank you for sharing your story with me and everyone else! I’m so glad you found your way to Pilates and many people have found their way to you to teach them!
      I hope it won’t be terribly long before we see each other again! It’s been years already!
      Thank you, again!
      – Shari

      Reply
  • 6. Kelly  |  July 16, 2010 at 10:32 pm

    I forgot to mention that Pilates has enabled me to start dancing again!

    Reply
  • 7. Wendy  |  July 17, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    Thank you for sharing your success story with Pilates! I “found” Pilates because I had low back pain after having my second child. I am also a physical therapist but found integrating Pilates with “traditional” PT was the most effective. The versatility and non-impact features of Pilates make it beneficial and superior for a wide variety of rehabilitation and wellness clients.

    Reply
    • 8. theverticalworkshop  |  July 17, 2010 at 9:55 pm

      Hi, Wendy!

      Thank you for taking the time to write a bit about your story! Pilates + traditional PT are a wonderful combination! I always remind Pilates instructors that we work around the injury in Pilates. It’s Physical Therapists who work directly with the injury. You’ve got the ability to do both! How fortunate people are who work with you!

      I hope to hear from you again in the future! Thank you for reading and commenting!

      All the best,
      – Shari

      Reply
  • 9. Natalie  |  July 20, 2010 at 11:43 am

    I recently bumped into a lady named Pam who is trying to get a new Pilates Equipment Blog going. Please take a look and leave her a comment on the direction she should take.

    Reply
  • 10. Pilates Ring  |  July 20, 2010 at 11:44 am

    Wow

    Reply
  • 11. Fear regret not failure « Pilates in the City  |  August 4, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    […] to Pilates like many others as a dancer with injuries and the desire to live pain-free. My mentor, Shari Berkowitz and her story, are what ignited my fire for the work. Shari, also a dancer had crippling injuries that she […]

    Reply
  • […] “Success Story” – Pilates Style2010/07/13 […]

    Reply
  • 13. Cristina  |  November 8, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    Hi Shari,
    I meant to write sooner to ask if you would mind sharing this article again since it’s no longer available in the Pilates Style on-line archives. I’ve always wanted to read it for my own reasons but now I also have clients for whom your story is especially pertinent and with whom i would like to share it.
    Thanks!
    Cristina

    Reply
    • 14. theverticalworkshop  |  November 8, 2011 at 2:52 pm

      Hi, Cristina,
      It would be my pleasure to post the article here. I hadn’t checked in to see if it still linked into Pilates Style, so thank you for informing me. I will post it in this same article in the next day or so. Thank you for finding value in my story for your clients. And thank you for reading my blog!
      All the best,
      – Shari

      Reply
    • 15. theverticalworkshop  |  November 11, 2011 at 3:42 pm

      Hi, Cristina,

      I updated this post with a link to the article in my own archives…thank you for having asked about it!

      All the best!
      – Shari

      Reply
  • […] “Success Story” – Pilates Style2010/07/13 […]

    Reply
  • 17. The Vertical Workshop's Pilates Teacher Blog  |  December 6, 2012 at 10:23 pm

    […] “Success Story” – Pilates Style2010/07/13 […]

    Reply
  • 18. Fear regret not failure | Lindsay Lopez  |  October 31, 2013 at 6:05 pm

    […] to Pilates like many others as a dancer with injuries and the desire to live pain-free. My mentor, Shari Berkowitz and her story, are what ignited my fire for the work. Shari, also a dancer had crippling injuries that she […]

    Reply

Please Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Sessions via Skype

Would you like to do a workout, question/answer or mini-workshop session with Shari? Each week, Shari works with teachers all over the world via Skype. Email Shari at info@TheVerticalWorkshop.com

Workshop Download – The Music of Pilates

Buy, Info, FREE Sample

Workshops

Full info listed under "Workshop Calendar" at www.TheVerticalWorkshop.com/workshops

EVERY DAY at your home:
The Music of Pilates
www.TheVerticalWorkshop.com/the-music-of-pilates

2017...
January 13-15 Webinar
June 9-11 Rio de Janeiro, BRASIL
(more to come as I work around my graduate school schedule)

2016...
February 26-28 Rhinebeck, NY
March 10-13 - Live-Streaming Webinar of The Intensives Seminar #1
April 1-3 Bethesda, MD
April 22-24 - London, ENGLAND
May 15 - NYC, NY
June 3-5 London, ENGLAND
July??? - Live-Streaming Webinar of The Intensives Seminar #2
September 30 - October 2 London, ENGLAND

EVERY DAY at your home:
The Music of Pilates
www.TheVerticalWorkshop.com/the-music-of-pilates

Archives

Special Thanks:

NYC's Finest Chiropractor

Joe Fiedler Trio

Incredible Music

Fantastic Music

The Vertical Workshop

Link yourself to this blog…

Would you like to be listed on the Pilates Teacher Blog like the links you see above in "Special Thanks"?
E-mail me at info@TheVerticalWorkshop.com to find out how!


