What is one thing you learned today?

October 20, 2008 at 5:41 am 7 comments

Years ago, at 1 p.m. every day, Romana Kryzanowska would sign our apprentice hour sheets, but wouldn’t hand them back to us until we answered this question, “What is one thing you learned today?”

I remember feeling nervous when she’d ask me that.  Why would I get nervous?  Because it made me take responsibility for the hours that I spent observing, practicing, teaching, etc.

Every day, I ask my own apprentices, “What is one thing you learned today?” when I sign their sheets.  And they say, “I learned so many things”.  I ask them to tell me one specific thing.  Because when they think about one thing, then those hours become clear.  Just one thing is plenty, though they may have learned many things.  One thing that is clear now and makes sense.  What more can we ask?

And you…what is one thing you have learned today?  You…a teacher…are you a student? 

I learned many things today, of course.  Even though I didn’t teach today, I learned many things.  When I pause to think of just one thing, my dance lesson comes to mind.  I recognize something that I know and believe already, but learned even more truly:  The value of teaching technique first before we get in to nuances or rhythm.

Every day, at the end of the day, I contemplate what one thing I learned that day.  How fortunate for me that I am reminded to ask myself this because of my apprentices.  But we don’t need apprentices to remind ourselves to be students.  You have clients every hour!  You have a moment a day to pause and query, “What is one thing I learned today?”

Enjoy being a student!

***As always, if you have an comments you’d like to share, topics you’d like me to blog on, please send them my way!  Enjoy!***

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

4 Pilates Stances – Deeper discussion on parallel vs. external rotation Expectations: It’s About Growth – Not Perfection

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Troy  |  November 13, 2008 at 1:10 am

    What did I learn today (well, yesterday, really)? That sometimes, and maybe most times, the basics are the best! In my own practice, I’ve been focusing more on this than on the “bells and whistles” of some of the so-called “advanced” exercises. And I’m enjoying teaching these basics with a renewed appreciation of them.

    Idea for a blog topic: what are your thoughts on apparatus. I mean, do you think one manufacturer better than another and if so why? I prefer Gratz reformers because I think you work harder and deeper on them. I’d love to hear your thoughts about this. Thanks.

    Reply
    • 2. theverticalworkshop  |  August 17, 2009 at 3:20 am

      Troy…I must speak to your question about apparatus! I promise to write on this! Thank you for the suggestion!
      And…I agree! Basics are best!
      Keep up your good teaching!

      Reply
  • 3. Alex  |  May 11, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    I found out today that what I thought was a benefit led me to miss something else!
    And then realised that Pilates is about challenging your self and your body differently, here, there, anywhere!
    I would always (if I can) start a work out on a Ref, why?
    Habit? Yep! Lack of thought? Yep! Easier, kind of, always felt its a kinder way of getting going for me personally!
    I started on the Mat Today, no idea why (which is poor in itself) but when I got to footwork, I was properly in where I should be, it shocked me so much ( more that I noticed ) but really shocked me that I had missed this through one well intentioned good thought had led to a pair of blinkers…..oh the pain of using my brain again! It never ends does it? ever…..

    Reply
  • 4. theverticalworkshop  |  May 11, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    Alex, I’m glad you discovered this. Now, I hope you’ll vary where you start your workouts…your clients’ workouts, too. Indeed, mix up your sessions. It’s important to challenge your body and mind in any way possible! And, important to be mindful! What a valuable discovery!

    Reply
  • […] What is one thing you learned today?2008/10/20 […]

    Reply
  • […] What is one thing you learned today?2008/10/20 […]

    Reply
  • 7. The Vertical Workshop's Pilates Teacher Blog  |  December 6, 2012 at 10:23 pm

    […] What is one thing you learned today?2008/10/20 […]

    Reply

Please Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Sessions via Skype

Would you like to do a workout, question/answer or mini-workshop session with Shari? Each week, Shari works with teachers all over the world via Skype. Email Shari at info@TheVerticalWorkshop.com

Workshop Download – The Music of Pilates

Buy, Info, FREE Sample

Workshops

Full info listed under "Workshop Calendar" at www.TheVerticalWorkshop.com/workshops

EVERY DAY at your home:
The Music of Pilates
www.TheVerticalWorkshop.com/the-music-of-pilates

2017...
January 13-15 Webinar
June 9-11 Rio de Janeiro, BRASIL
(more to come as I work around my graduate school schedule)

2016...
February 26-28 Rhinebeck, NY
March 10-13 - Live-Streaming Webinar of The Intensives Seminar #1
April 1-3 Bethesda, MD
April 22-24 - London, ENGLAND
May 15 - NYC, NY
June 3-5 London, ENGLAND
July??? - Live-Streaming Webinar of The Intensives Seminar #2
September 30 - October 2 London, ENGLAND

EVERY DAY at your home:
The Music of Pilates
www.TheVerticalWorkshop.com/the-music-of-pilates

Archives

Special Thanks:

NYC's Finest Chiropractor

Joe Fiedler Trio

Incredible Music

Fantastic Music

The Vertical Workshop

The Vertical Workshop Pilates

Link yourself to this blog…

Would you like to be listed on the Pilates Teacher Blog like the links you see above in "Special Thanks"?
E-mail me at info@TheVerticalWorkshop.com to find out how!


