Thankful for Pilates

November 23, 2007 at 5:06 am 7 comments

This Thanksgiving, I say my great thanks to Pilates.  How fortunate I am to spend my life teaching Pilates!  It’s remarkable, really.

How fortunate I am that I pursue my passion everyday.  You’re lucky, too!

What we do is truly challenging.  More than most people know.  But we know it.  Still, we are truly fortunate. 

We spend our lives doing something so very luxurious.  Training other people in this incredible method.  And most of us teach people who are financially fortunate.  It’s a true luxury. 

Pursuing your passion is a gift.  Most of the people around you don’t pursue their passions.  And I won’t speak for you, but I will speak for myself:  Pilates is my great passion.  I never take it for granted and I do treasure every hour that I teach.  I even treasure the administrative work.

Not everyone knows his/her passion.  Not everyone knows how to seek it out.  Perhaps Pilates is not your passion, but maybe it will lead you to whatever is.

If Pilates is your passion, then I implore you to remind yourself on a daily basis how special it is.  You are probably working in a high-rent district, with very wealthy clients.  You probably don’t have to work very many hours a week.  Your hourly wage that you sometimes complain about is far higher than the minimum-wage; it’s far higher than the hourly temp-wage you used to work for.  Take a moment today to remember why you became a Pilates teacher.  Take a moment to be thankful that you were able to pursue it.  Even if this is not your be-all-end-all job…it’s a pretty great one!Thank you for reading my blog!  Let me know if there is something specific about Pilates that you would like me to write about…and I will!  I’ll post a new blog in a couple of days!

Happy Thanksgiving!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Practice What You Teach Confidence

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisamay Scott  |  November 24, 2007 at 3:58 am

    I have much to be thankful for – health, family & friends. But I’m especially thankful that everyday I go to a place that I love and spend it with people that I care about. Frankly, it’s hard to call it work since it’s such a joy to do! Pilates is amazing that way. It’s about a community created by people that share the same passions and desires. You’re a big part of creating that community. Thanks for being my teacher but also, my friend. You rock!

    Reply
  • 2. your P  |  November 24, 2007 at 11:17 pm

    I too am thankful for Pilates….. OK so i’m a Brit and i dont do pilates, but bear with me on this one! My beautiful girlfriend is a pilates instructor, we met at capoeira and at the time i knew nothing of pilates – i still dont really, except the exceptional elegant beauty and compassion demostrated when i see her teach and when i was taught… by her! Pilates is a wonderful discipline. Shari is an incredible Girlfriend. I LOVE YOU!!

    Reply
  • 3. Cheryl  |  November 30, 2007 at 4:25 am

    I am thankful that I was able to transition easily from one passion to another. Being a professional ballet dancer was my passion but it wasn’t one I could do forever. I knew I loved doing pilates, but would I love teaching it? After my Beg. mat certification with Shari I was hooked. I had indeed found another passion. Teaching people and seeing them make changes in their bodies is so rewarding. Pilates is an amazing method and I’m thankful that I had an an incredible teacher to help me pass it on. I miss you Shari!!! You are an inspiration to me!

    Reply
  • 4. Noelle Stumpf  |  November 30, 2007 at 4:49 am

    Shari,

    You are so right. We are so lucky to be Pilates professionals. What we do for people is so important and probably the highlight of their day. It is such a gift. You are a true inspiration. Have a great holiday.

    Noelle

    Reply
  • […] Thankful for Pilates2007/11/23 […]

    Reply
  • […] Thankful for Pilates2007/11/23 […]

    Reply
  • 7. The Vertical Workshop's Pilates Teacher Blog  |  December 6, 2012 at 10:24 pm

    […] Thankful for Pilates2007/11/23 […]

    Reply

Please Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Sessions via Skype

Would you like to do a workout, question/answer or mini-workshop session with Shari? Each week, Shari works with teachers all over the world via Skype. Email Shari at info@TheVerticalWorkshop.com

Workshop Download – The Music of Pilates

Buy, Info, FREE Sample

Workshops

Full info listed under "Workshop Calendar" at www.TheVerticalWorkshop.com/workshops

EVERY DAY at your home:
The Music of Pilates
www.TheVerticalWorkshop.com/the-music-of-pilates

2017...
January 13-15 Webinar
June 9-11 Rio de Janeiro, BRASIL
(more to come as I work around my graduate school schedule)

2016...
February 26-28 Rhinebeck, NY
March 10-13 - Live-Streaming Webinar of The Intensives Seminar #1
April 1-3 Bethesda, MD
April 22-24 - London, ENGLAND
May 15 - NYC, NY
June 3-5 London, ENGLAND
July??? - Live-Streaming Webinar of The Intensives Seminar #2
September 30 - October 2 London, ENGLAND

EVERY DAY at your home:
The Music of Pilates
www.TheVerticalWorkshop.com/the-music-of-pilates

Archives

Special Thanks:

NYC's Finest Chiropractor

Joe Fiedler Trio

Incredible Music

Fantastic Music

The Vertical Workshop

Link yourself to this blog…

Would you like to be listed on the Pilates Teacher Blog like the links you see above in "Special Thanks"?
E-mail me at info@TheVerticalWorkshop.com to find out how!


